Limiting The Consequences Of A Drunk Driving Arrest
According to the Illinois Secretary of State, the average DUI offender has a blood alcohol concentration of .16, or twice the legal limit. However, the consequences are severe if you are found guilty of driving under the influence at any BAC level.
At Stone & Associates, we start with the goal of avoiding a conviction altogether. In those cases when it is not possible to avoid punishment, our Waukegan DUI defense team works behind the scenes to mitigate the penalties as much as possible. Attorney Jed Stone represented the accused in Lake county and Northern Illinois for nearly 40 years.
The Potential Penalties For DUI In Illinois
The punishment depends on several factors, including age, intoxication level, prior convictions and whether there were children in the vehicle. With the harsh consequences, you cannot afford a guilty plea or a meek defense. You need an attorney who can challenge the prosecution’s case and position you for the most favorable outcome.
Among the penalties you may be subject to:
- First-time DUI — Class A misdemeanor conviction, one-year license revocation, possible jail up to one year
- Second DUI conviction — Five days in jail or 240 hours community service, five-year revocation of driving privileges’
- Third or fourth offense — Class 2 felony, 10-year revocation, possible prison of 3 years or more
- Fifth offense — Class 1 felony, 4 to 15 years in prison, lifetime license revocation with no relief
- Sixth or subsequent DUI — Class X felony
- Aggravated DUI (prior DUIs, transporting child, or serious accident) — Felony conviction, mandatory jail time, possible prison, long-term or permanent revocation
- DUI resulting in death — Prison of 6 to 28 years, fines up to $25,000
- BAC of .16 or more — Enhancement of base penalties
- Chemical test refusal — Automatic license suspension for 12 months, plus penalties if convicted of DUI
- Driving on a suspended/revoked license — Mandatory jail or community service, extended revocation
The State of Illinois requires anyone convicted of DUI to install a breath alcohol ignition interlock device (BAIID) on their vehicle before they are granted driving privileges during the suspension period or before being reinstated. Violations are a Class 4 felony.
Asserting Your Rights And Options
We understand the hardships of going to jail or losing your license, not to mention the stigma of a conviction and the collateral consequences. We represent clients in criminal proceedings and judicial hearings to fight the criminal charges and challenge the summary suspension.
You need a skilled lawyer for drunk driving charges. Call Stone & Associates for a free consultation, at 847.336.7888 or contact us online.