Second Time DUI Defense Lawyer In Illinois
For many individuals in today’s busy society, driving is more than a privilege – it’s a necessity. From getting to work on time to completing daily chores like picking up groceries, a valid driver’s license can be a boon to almost anyone out there. This is perhaps especially true in areas without comprehensive public transportation systems that do not cover all areas of a city. With this in mind, it is clear that maintaining your driver’s license is an important part of living a productive live for many individuals.
When your license is threatened, it is time to invest in an experienced attorney for help. This is particularly true when you are dealing with a DUI (driving under the influence) charge, which can carry harsh penalties even for first-time offenders. If you are facing a second time DUI, however, you can expect the punishment and potential consequences to be direr than ever. At Stone and Associates, we understand that your license is important to you. We also know that everyone makes mistakes! We aren’t here to judge your choices – we are here to do everything in our power to help reduce the consequences you face.
Revoked Driver’s License
When your driver’s license is revoked, you are no longer legally able to drive. That means that you will have to rely on others for your transportation, especially if you do not live near public transportation. One of the most common punishments for a second time DUI is the revocation of your driver’s license. That is because in the state of Illinois, second time DUI offenders are not eligible to receive a sentence of supervision. In fact, the minimum sentence that can be handed out to these individuals is a conviction. Receiving a conviction will lead to the Secretary of State revoking your driver’s license.
If you thought that having your license revoked was bad, you might be disheartened to learn that this is not the only potential consequence for second time DUI offenders. You could also face the following:
- 240 hours’ community service or spend five days behind bars.
- $1,000 assessment in addition to a fine and court costs.
- Potential to have your charge upgraded from a simple DUI offense to a felony depending upon various circumstances including BAC, who was in the car at the time of the accident or at the time of being pulled over, and the state of your license and suspension at the time of being pulled over.
As you can see, receiving a second DUI is no simple matter to brush off. In fact, it can result in serious consequences that have a big impact upon your life, your relationships, and your future. It is important to always seek out an experienced attorney to help you receive the best outcome possible when you go to court to defend yourself.
At Stone and Associates, we can help. Our experienced attorneys have plenty of experience working with DUI offenders to ensure they receive the best results from their court case possible. Reach out to our talented staff today, and allow us to help you through this difficult time. We will do our very best to keep your license in place and your other consequences as low as we can.
Reach out to us using our website, or contact us via telephone at 847.336.7888. Our initial consultations are always free!