Top Third Time DUI Defense Lawyer In Illinois
Driving is a privilege, not a right, in the eyes of the law. That means that if drivers routinely fail to pay attention to the rules of the road and prove themselves to be a risk, they might have their license revoked and their ability to drive rescinded. This can, as you might imagine, have a big impact upon the ability to live a normal and productive life, especially if the individuals in question rely upon their ability to drive to get to and from work.
Receiving a DUI (driving under the influence) charge is a big deal. Receiving more than one DUI charge, however, is an even bigger deal that ups your chances of losing your license and facing jail time by quite a bit. This is perhaps especially true if you are facing a third DUI, also a Class 2 felony, and are convicted. Third time offenders can expect consequences such as mandatory jail time as well as expensive fines in addition to losing their license.
At Stone and Associates, we understand that your license is important. That is why we work hard to ensure that our clients receive the best outcome possible! If you are facing a third DUI charge, you need an experienced attorney – there is no getting around it. Reach out today for help.
Third DUI Consequences
First and second DUIs, depending upon the circumstances of the case, can often be issued as misdemeanor offenses. While these are serious legal issues and are not something to be waved away, misdemeanors are still a far better option than the alternative: a felony. In Illinois, a third DUI is a Class 2 felony. That means that the consequences you face as a result are more severe than they are for the first and second DUI offenses. It is also important to note that it does not matter whether or not you were convicted or instead received supervision for either of your two prior DUI charges. The court counts supervision as a prior, which means that you can face this Class 2 felony with one instance of supervision and one conviction on record.
In Illinois, an individual convicted of a Class 2 felony could receive as many as seven years in prison. Should they instead receive probation, said probation could last for as many as 48 months. In addition, you might face fines as expensive as $25,000 depending upon who was in the vehicle at the time of the accident or at the time of being pulled over.
One of the most important aspects in any DUI case is the amount of time and research the attorney in question is able to put in. At Stone and Associates, we promise to work hard so that you do not have to worry about facing severe consequences for a third DUI charge. That means that we will ensure no stone is left unturned when seeking ways to challenge any sobriety test evidence that might exist while also looking for any way to otherwise lessen the charges.
If you are facing a third DUI charge, contact Stone and Associates as quickly as possible. We will work hard to give you the best defense and representation possible, and will ensure that you receive the best outcome available.
Reach out to us using our website, or contact us via telephone at 847.336.7888. Our initial consultations are always free!